The National Advocate for People with Down Syndrome Since 1979

National Down Syndrome Society
666 Broadway, 8th Floor
New York New York 10012
800-221-4602
info@ndss.org 

Me and My Dreams
Me and My Dreams

My name is Roxani Kalpaki and I'm 23 years old. I live with my parents and my older brother. I'm working at a workshop in the Association of Down Syndrome in Greece. I'm making "mpomponieres," that here in my country we give when a couple is getting married or when a child is being baptized. I like going to my work every morning and I'm happy when the clients go home satisfied from my work. Another thing I like the most is taking photos with my camera. My parents gave me a camera some years ago, and I havent stopped using it ever since. I take photos of people, weddings, places and even performances in the theater. I'd like to work as a teacher and teach other people how to write and read. It's very nice teaching other people how to be independent. I'd like to get married and have a family. I'd like to have three children and a husband who will respect me. Together we could teach them to speak, write or read correctly. I love all the people, because I think all of us are nice. That's why I'm trying to help them whenever I can. For example last month I offered medicines and food to Doctors Without Borders for poor people and children, that here in Greece are suffering because of the financial crisis.




Vote for your favorite story! Each month, the two stories with the most votes will be featured in the NDSS E-Newsletter.*

Email:        


Your email address will be used for voter tracking only, and will not be used for future NDSS emails.
Click here to become a fan on Facebook.
Click here to follow us on Twitter.

*Votes will be reset at the end of each month.



Full Name
Email
Country
State
Comments (1,000 character limit)



There are no comments.
  • Buddy Walk
  • NDSS Yourway
  • My Great Story
  • NDSS DS-Ambassadors