The leading human rights organization for all individuals with Down syndrome.

National Down Syndrome Society
8 E 41st Street, 8th Floor
New York New York 10017
[email protected] 

Meggie's Kitchen
Megan making taco salad
Megan making taco salad
Meggie's Kitchen

My name is Megan Crandall and I am 27 years old. I live at home with my mom, dad and grandma. My sister, brother-in-law and niece live nearby too. I like to help my mom babysit Haley, my niece every week. I also help with my sister's hippotherapy clinic, which is physical therapy done on a horse. I help set-up the course with cones, beanbags and other props used during the therapy session. I also bring the helmet out for the patients. I love my animals. We have two dogs, Sam and Sadie, one desert tortoise, Shadow and a horse named Rocket. I have many interests, one of which is cooking. I like to help my mom in the kitchen. She is always entering recipe contests and I wanted to try one too. I entered a Quaker Oats contest a couple of years ago and made it as a top ten semi-finalist. My mom and I started a blog with easy recipes for people with disabilities to learn to cook. It is called "Meggies Kitchen." My mom takes pictures of me for each step of the recipe. We add one recipe a week. You can take a look at it at: Some of the other things I like to do are; bowling, swimming, and Zumba!

Vote for your favorite story! Each month, the two stories with the most votes will be featured in the NDSS E-Newsletter.*


Your email address will be used for voter tracking only, and will not be used for future NDSS emails.
Click here to become a fan on Facebook.
Click here to follow us on Twitter.

*Votes will be reset at the end of each month.

Full Name
Comments (1,000 character limit)

There are no comments.
  • Buddy Walk
  • NDSS Yourway
  • NDSS DS-Ambassadors