The National Advocate for People with Down Syndrome Since 1979

National Down Syndrome Society
666 Broadway, 8th Floor
New York New York 10012

Board of Directors

The National Down Syndrome Society is guided by a Board of Directors who represent a broad range of expertise and experience. Our advisory boards comprise internationally recognized professionals who are leaders in their fields.


Jon Colman

Board of Directors

Elizabeth F. Goodwin, Founder
Charles H. Gerhardt, III, Chairperson
CAPT Robert P. Taishoff USN (ret), Vice Chairperson
Robert F. Cioffi, Treasurer 
Tiffany Barfield, Secretary
Stephen Beck, Jr., Buddy Walk®
Amy G. Allyn
Peter Amadeo
Douglas Biklen
Louise I. Borke
Janet Slaughter Eissenstat
Jim Nussle
Stephanie L. Sherman
F. Gordon Spoor, CPA, PFS, CGMA
Erin Thompson
Laurie Walters
Tim Wilbricht
Sara C. Wolff

Self-Advocate Advisory Board

Sara C. Wolff, Secretary
Chris Burke
Tavrick Lawless
Mitchell Levitz
Essie Pederson
Mia Peterson
Anita Raghavan
Erin Thompson

Scientific & Clinical Advisory Board

Stephanie L. Sherman, PhD, Chairperson
George T. Capone, MD
Jessica DeBord, DDS
Terry Hassold, PhD
Priya Kishnani, MD
Julie R. Korenberg, PhD, MD
Len Leshin, MD
Ira T. Lott, MD
Philip Mattheis, MD
Joan Guthrie Medlen, RD
William C. Mobley, MD, PhD
Paul Moore, M.D.
William Motley, MD, MS
Lynn Nadel, PhD
Bonnie Patterson, MD
David Patterson, PhD
Roger H. Reeves, PhD
Nancy J. Roizen, MD
Romney L. Snyder-Croft, LCSW, ACSW
Leslie Walker-Hirsch, MEd, FAAIDD
Patricia C. Winders, PT

National Government Affairs Committee

Steve Beck 
Teddy Eynon, JD 
Chip Gerhardt, JD 
Congressman Jim Nussle 
Vince Randazzo 
Charles Symington

Education Advisory Board

Mark Alter
Douglas Biklen
Joyce Clark
Sandi Cole
Patricia Guard
Susan Brody Hasazi
Thomas Hehir
David Mank
Michael L. Remus
David Rose
Ed Sontag
Martha L. Thurlow

Honorary Board of Governors

Thomas J. O'Neill, Chairperson
Emily Perl Kingsley
Arden G. Moulton

  • Buddy Walk
  • NDSS Yourway
  • My Great Story